Apertura ’07: Round 18 fixtures

Primera A 2007 Apertura logo

The penultimate round of the championship begins with a relegation clash on Friday night when Central host San Martín, and ends on Sunday with Vélez’s visit to Independiente. By the time that match kicks off, Argentina could have a new champion football team. Tigre’s visit to Argentinos and Lanús’s visit to La Bombonera will be played at the same time, according to the AFA in order, ‘to prevent suspicion and supposed sporting advantages.’ Arsenal’s visit to Gimnasia La Plata, meanwhile, is postponed due to their participation in Friday night’s Copa Sudamericana final first leg.

All kickoff times are local. Add three hours for Greenwich Mean Time. 

Primera División A Torneo Apertura 2007, eighteenth round
Rosario Central vs. San Martín de San Juan (Fri, 18:10)
Colón de Santa Fé vs. Estudiantes de La Plata (Fri, 20:10)
Olimpo de Bahía Blanca vs. River Plate (Sat, 16:10)
Huracán vs. Racing Club (Sat, 18:20)
Gimnasia y Esgrima de Jujuy vs. Newell’s Old Boys (Sat, 18:20)
Banfield vs. San Lorenzo de Almagro (Sat, 21:10)
Boca Juniors vs. Lanús (Sun, 17:10)
Argentinos Juniors vs. Tigre (Sun, 17:10)
Independiente vs. Vélez Sársfield (Sun, 19:10)
Gimnasia y Esgrima La Plata vs. Arsenal de Sarandí – postponed

The championship situation in a nutshell: Tigre must beat Argentinos, and also need a favour from Boca. If Tigre and Boca both win, Tigre will finish level on points with Lanús, thus forcing a playoff for the championship. Any other set of results whatsoever – if Tigre don’t win, or if Lanús don’t lose – will see the title heading to La Fortaleza for the first time ever.

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: